Written by 9:27 pm Uncategorized

Iowa High School Football District Assignments

(Boone) — The Iowa High School Athletic Association released football district assignments for the 2014 and 2015 seasons on Thursday.

Listed below is who is in each district. Schedules for the next two years will be released at a later date.

There are 46 teams in Class 4A, 56 in Classes 3A through 1A, 62 in Class and 64 in Class 8-Player.

Area districts are shown below.

Class 2A – District 8

Clarinda, East Sac County, Kuemper Catholic, Prairie Valley, Red Oak, Shenandoah, West Central Valley

Full assignments for Class 2A can be found here.

Class 8-Man – District 8

CAM, East Mills, Essex, Fremont-Mills, Lenox, Nishnabotna, Sidney, Stanton

Class 8-Man – District 7

Adair-Casey, Ankeny Christian Academy, Coon Rapids-Bayard, East Union, Glidden-Ralston, Guthrie Center, Murray, Northeast Hamilton

Class 8-Man – District 1

Ar-We-Va, Boyer Valley, Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton, Kingsley-Pierson, Newell-Fonda, River Valley, West Harrison, Woodbine

Full assignments for Class 8-Man can be found here.

Class A – District 1

Audubon, Griswold, Logan-Magnolia, Maple Valley, Riverside, St. Albert, Tri-Center, Westwood

Class A – District 8

Bedford, Clarinda Academy, Earlham, Martensdale-St. Marys, Mount Ayr, Nodaway Valley, Pleasantville, Southeast Warren

Full assignments for Class A can be found here.

Class 1A – District 1

AHST, IKM-Manning, Missouri Valley, OA-BCIG, Treynor, Underwood, West Monona

Class 1A – District 8

Central Decatur, Des Moines Christian, Interstate-35, Panorama, Southwest Valley, Van Meter, Woodward-Granger

Full assignments for Class 1A can be found here.

Class 3A – District 8

ADM, Atlantic, Creston, Dallas Center-Grimes, Glenwood, Harlan, Winterset

Class 3A – District 1

Sioux City Bishop Heelan, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, Denison-Schleswig, LeMars, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Spencer, Storm Lake

Class 3A – District 2

Algona, Boone, Carroll, Greene County, Humboldt, Perry, Webster City

Full assignments for Class 3A can be found here.

Class 4A – District 1

Ames, Ankeny, CB Thomas Jefferson, Des Moines East, Sioux City North, Southeast Polk

Class 4A – District 2

Des Moines North, Des Moines Roosevelt, WDM Dowling Catholic, Johnston, Lewis Central, Sioux City East

Class 4A – District 3

Ankeny Centennial, CB Abraham Lincoln, Des Moines Hoover, Des Moines Lincoln, Sioux City West, WDM Valley

Full assignments for Class 4A can be found here.

Week One will be Friday, August 28th with practice starting on Monday, August 11th. The IHSAA is not expecting any Week 0 games in 2014. The postseason schedule will be Wednesday, October 29th, Monday, November 3rd, Friday, November 7th

The IHSAA sent to state-wide media a release on Thursday morning with some other highlights from Wednesday’s Board of Control meeting. That release is below.

In its monthly meeting, Wednesday, January 22, the Board of Control acted on football recommendations coming from the Iowa Football Coaches Association and the IHSAA Football Playoff Committee. The recommendations had been tabled by the Board of Control from their December meeting.

At the center of discussions and action was a proposed 8-game regular season which would allow the playoffs to fold into a weekly format. Since December, Board members had contacted constituent groups and in a unanimous vote agreed to stay with the 9-game regular season format.

Other football items that were approved included: (1) discontinuing “sister districts” for the regular season and post season classes in 8-player through 3A and to have a 125-mile limitation for first round games; and (2) no preset pairings will be made for the playoffs and pairings will be determined after each round of the playoffs. Reasonable attempts will be made to find non-district playoff opponents for the first and second round games, but district match-ups could reoccur if an opponent cannot be found within a reasonable distance.

The Board of Control also approved allowing one practice session of no more than four hours during the heat acclimatization period with nor more than three hours of physical activity allowed. The Board also granted an allowance of up to four teams to be at a scrimmage site, with each team only being allowed to scrimmage one other team. All current scrimmage rules would remain in effect.

A change in the forfeiture of season policy was also approved to read “The continuation of the season for a team forfeiting a regular season game shall be determined by the IHSASA administrative staff and the school administration.”

Visited 2 times, 1 visit(s) today